An Interview Of Tamikio L. Dooley Taken By Irma Kurti

TAMIKIO L. DOOLEY is a multi award-winning author, the author of 100 titles and 85 published books. She writes fiction and nonfiction of crime, thriller, mystery, fantasy, historical, western, romance, zombie apocalypse, and paranormal. In her spare time, she writes short stories, poetry, articles, essays, health books, children’s books, diaries, journals, history, African American, and inspiring books.

IRMA KURTI: You are a prolific writer of short stories, poetry, essays and children’s books. What genre of books do you prefer?

TAMIKIO L. DOOLEY: I love writing as a multi-genre author, so I have no preferred genre when it comes to writing. I put my heart, mind, and soul into whatever genre I’m writing.

IRMA KURTI: When and how did you start writing? Do you remember what was your first poem or story about?

TAMIKIO L. DOOLEY: I started writing for the public audience in January 2015. My initial book was a short story horror book entitled Ghost and the Supernatural. I’m not ashamed to admit the book received rough criticism. The criticism discouraged me. I unpublished the book. That didn’t stop there. I continued writing, and writing, and writing, until I started networking with fellow authors, poets, editors, and other high prolific writers. This is where I am today. 

IRMA KURTI: You are the editor of various international magazines. Can you tell us something more about this experience?

TAMIKIO L. DOOLEY: I originally started creating magazines in December 2021. Recently, I made major updates, (editing) to my magazines such as changes in some titles, changes in month and number editions, bringing magazines up-to-date. I admit I’m proud of the changes.

IRMA KURTI: What do most poets have in common?

TAMIKIO L. DOOLEY: Most poets have in common the ability and passion to write, share their love for poetry with others, building a solid foundation, only focusing on poetry. Just earlier this year, because of meeting and networking with so many poets and poetesses, I’ve been drawn into a web of writing more poetry. People have told me no matter what I write I write with passion, beauty, and that I’m a great writer.

IRMA KURTI: How many hours a day do you dedicate to writing?

TAMIKIO L. DOOLEY: My hours dedicated to writing are unlimited. It depends on the project, the genre, or story I’m writing. Some books may take up an entire day, week, or month, maybe a year.

IRMA KURTI: You have won various international awards. Which is the one that you consider more important and inspiring for your literary career?

TAMIKIO L. DOOLEY: All of them. I treasure and value each award I’ve won. I’ve won awards in the literary, crime, and poetry categories. I know one day that special book of mine will win an award or sticker on the cover, too.

IRMA KURTI: What book do you feel connected to the most?

TAMIKIO L. DOOLEY: I’ve written 85 books, when I look back on my books I feel a connection with all of them. I become each character I write in my books. I can feel them, hear what they are thinking, what they are feeling, I see myself in the very places I put my characters when I write. When I name my characters, create them, and give them personality, when going back to the same characters, I automatically change into that character. I’ve been told I’m the ‘queen’ of dialog.

IRMA KURTI: What are some challenges that you have faced in your literary path? 

TAMIKIO L. DOOLEY: Competition. Of course, there are fantastic writers out there. But in all nature, every single person who writes is a fantastic writer in their unique way. There is not one writer in this world alike. There may be some similarities, but that doesn’t cut the cake. That is what makes us all fantastic and unique, spilling the words from our heads and hearts.

IRMA KURTI: Do you think poetry is a powerful means to promote peace?

TAMIKIO L. DOOLEY: Yes, most definitely. During my times of publishing fellow poets and poetess’ poetry, I’ve noticed the passion, physics, and special craft they put into their poems. As I stated before, they are all fantastic and unique in their ways. I will continue to support writers nationwide. We’re all running this literature race together, not competing for the finish line.

IRMA KURTI is an Albanian poet, writer, lyricist, journalist, and translator and has been writing since she was a child. She is a naturalized Italian and lives in Bergamo, Italy. All her books are dedicated to the memory of her beloved parents, Hasan Kurti and Sherife Mezini, who have supported and encouraged every step of her literary path. Kurti has also won numerous literary prizes and awards in Italy and Italian Switzerland. She was awarded the Universum Donna International Prize IX Edition 2013 for Literature and received a lifetime nomination as an Ambassador of Peace by the University of Peace, Italian Switzerland. In 2020, she became the honorary president of WikiPoesia, the encyclopedia of poetry. In 2021, she was awarded the title of Liria (Freedom) by the Italian-Albanian community in Italy. In 2022, she was also nominated as the Albanian ambassador to the International Academic Award of Contemporary Literature Seneca of the Academy of Philosophical Arts and Sciences, Bari. She also won the prestigious 2023 Naji Naaman’s literary prize for complete work. Irma Kurti has published 27 books in Albanian, 24 in Italian, 15 in English, and two in French. She has written approximately 150 lyrics for adults and children. She has also translated 17 books by different authors, and all of her own books into Italian and English. Her books have been translated and published in 14 countries.

Leave a comment